Today marks the 20th anniversary of Puff Daddy’s (P Diddy)’s first label album No Way Out featuring The Family.

The album dropped July 1st, 1997 on Puff’s own label Bad Boy.  The album featured B.I.G, Busta Rhymes, Mase, Lil Kim, Carl Thomas, Jay-Z, Black Rob, Ginuwine, Twista, The LOX, Faith Evans, and 112.  The album gave producer credits to Diddy, Biggie, D-Dot, and The Hitmen (Bad Boy’s in house production group).

The album debuted at #1 on the Billboard charts, selling 561,000 copies in the first week. It remained at the top of the charts for about 5 months. It also won a Grammy for Best Rap Album.  It earned all these accolades while having 5 singles doing extremely well off the album.  Those singles were “Can’t Nobody Hold Me Down”, “I’ll Be Missing You”, “It’s All About The Benjamins”, “Been Around The World”, and “Victory”.  With all these singles coming out, you can see why it remained at the top of the charts for so long.

This album still remains one of the best selling hip-hop albums of all time, selling over 7 million copies worldwide and remains Diddy’s best selling album.  With success like this, you can see why  Diddy top’s the Forbes list yearly.

Diddy also has recently released his extremely good Bad Boy documentary “Can’t Stop, Wont Stop” via Apple Music.

Happy 20th anniversary No Way Out!