Legends never die. To honor the one-year anniversary of the tragic passing of legendary artist Prince, Rogue Music Alliance will release his first posthumous project this Friday, April 21st. The EP which is called Deliverance is 6 tracks long and will include unreleased songs that were recorded between 2006 and 2008 when Prince was an independent artist. The project was arranged by Ian Boxill who was Prince’s engineer at the time, he also finished producing and mixing the songs after Prince’s untimely death.

Even though fans are excited they get to hear some new material from Prince there has been some controversy surrounding the release. On Tuesday a lawsuit was filed by Prince’s Estate and there aiming to block the release of the EP. They claim that Ian Boxill has no legal right to release the music and that he is violating the terms of his agreement with Prince.

We will have to wait and see how this all turns out but in the meantime take a listen to the title track, “Deliverance” below and look out for more previously unreleased material that is scheduled to be released as part of the deluxe reissue of Purple Rain which is slated to drop on June 9.